Black Scarf

 

“Those who have the strength and the love to sit with a dying patient in the silence that goes beyond words will know that this moment is neither frightening nor painful, but a peaceful cessation of the functioning of the body.”

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

 

I held your hand and watched you sleep

Your hand cold and clammy pressed against my warm palm.

recalling  how it felt when you first held mine,

the strong hands that told me you will never let go.

I took your hand to my lips,

remembering how many times it touched my cheeks

my lips, my nose, my face.

quietly, you removed your hand and touched my hair

I looked at you and saw you with a weak smile

I smiled  back and tried not to show any sign of weakness

I wouldn’t miss that chance to see your face again..

your eyes, your lips,  the whole of you.

you moved your lips trying to tell me something

I lowered my ears to your lips,

“I love you”

I tried to hold back the tears from falling..

The walls that I tried to build came crumbling down,

I cried, I know it will the last few minutes before you say goodbye

I hugged you for the very last time

I don’t want you to go

but time has run out.

I stayed in your arms,

I held you close

knowing that it will be the last

I looked at you and said

“I love you very much”

You held me tight, kissed me on the forehead

and drew your last breath…

Goodbye my love.. until we meet again.

Black LV scarf

9 thoughts on “Black Scarf

      • Ah malungkot ang kuwento pero kailangang iyong harapin noong nangyayari iyon at lakasan ang pananampalataya sa Maykapal. Sa ngayon naman dito sa aming lugar ay tagsibol na at ang mga tao naglalabasan na sa kanya-kanyang lungga dahil gumaganda na ang panahon…ramdam na ang madalas ang init ng araw….umm pero parang Baguio City…dahil may lamig pa sa gabi.. Salamat din sa pangangamusta. God Bless!

Just say what you think! :)

