Meaning of Life..

 

For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain[c] we can carry nothing out. 1 Timothy 6:7

So its my birthday today and while contemplating on what I want for my birthday our Pastors’ Word of the day discussed about the meaning of Life that hit me right through the heart.. If I die tomorrow? would have i serve my purpose?

King Solomon, through Ecclesiastes 1: 12-18

 I communed with my heart, saying, “Look, I have attained greatness, and have gained more wisdom than all who were before me in Jerusalem. My heart has understood great wisdom and knowledge.”17 And I set my heart to know wisdom and to know madness and folly. I perceived that this also is grasping for the wind.

18 For in much wisdom is much grief,
And he who increases knowledge increases sorrow.

King Solomon has it all, but he said everything is pointless. He has wisdom,  he became great, he had all the riches  yet he said:

16 There is no eternal memory of the wise any more than the foolish,[d]because everyone is forgotten before long. How can the wise die just like the fool? 17 So I hated life, because the things that happen under the sun were troublesome to me. Definitely, everything is pointless—just wind chasing.

I recently lost a job. It was quite painful because I know in my heart that worked hard in hope that I will be given a chance for a permanent position. 8 years working as a contractual employee, knowing by heart details of the job, passing and graduating as first honorable mention during the training. Giving up holidays for work and made my family second priority. Sacrificing in hope that someday all my hard work will be rewarded.  It was the darkest days for me. I was devastated.I hit bottom rock and I was literally crying every time it pass my mind. What have I done wrong? Is it because I never had any political backer? Is it because I am older? So many questions, so many stories, some true some hearsay. But one thing is clear, I have no job and my bills are piled and stacking.

What’s the purpose of life?  Working so hard and ending up with none?  I had so much but none was left. I was cut-off from all the worldly pleasure of life, having so little yet the want is exceedingly great. My birthday trip to Vietnam was cancelled.  (sob) I felt like the world is caving in, trying to swallow me.

10 The money lover isn’t satisfied with money; neither is the lover of wealth satisfied with income. This too is pointless. 11 When good things flow, so do those who consume them.

The prestige is gone, my ego bruised and my plans ruined. That’s what i felt.

To everything there is a season,
A time for every purpose under heaven: Ecclesiastes 3:1

God answered my question. Little by little, everyday, God showed me my purpose.

From a working mom to being full time housewife, it took me a while to grasp on this side of life.  It was joy for me to see my children and I grow closer. I  was blinded by the luxuries that I received, and shifted my focus to the blessing not the Source of blessing, I was planning according to what I want not according to God’s plan for us.

13 Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter:

Fear God and keep His commandments,
For this is man’s all.
14 For God will bring every work into judgment,
Including every secret thing,
Whether good or evil. Ecclesiastes 12:13-14

This is the duty of man “To fear the Lord”.  All the things and efforts that we do, will be pointless unless God is in us. Love God with all your heart with all your mind with all your soul and all things will be added unto you. The fear of God will help us refrain from doing wrong and to keep ourselves abiding his commandments.  It is in Christ Jesus that we find our purpose.

 For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. Those who want to get richfall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. 10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs. 1 Timothy 6:7-10

As a mother I can only say that my purpose is served if I see my children fearing the Lord. For that I know whatever comes their way, they will be guided with Wisdom and their paths will not be lost. Their light is within, for they have planted the seed of praise and worship to God through Jesus Christ our Lord.

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge,
but fools[a] despise wisdom and instruction.Proverbs  1:7

Money, prestige, honor is not important when we die for  we cannot bring this.The poor and rich, animals and people die the same way but how you lived your life makes the difference. Magnifying God’s great works on you instead of yourself  and dying knowing that you will be in Gods kingdom is our purpose.

My son, do not let wisdom and understanding out of your sight,
preserve sound judgment and discretion;
22 they will be life for you,
an ornament to grace your neck.
23 Then you will go on your way in safety,
and your foot will not stumble.
24 When you lie down, you will not be afraid;
when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.
25 Have no fear of sudden disaster
or of the ruin that overtakes the wicked,
26 for the Lord will be at your side
and will keep your foot from being snared.

Proverbs  3:21-26

Image

 

9 thoughts on “Meaning of Life..

  1. Pingback: Heart like wax « whitehothair

  2. Happy birthday Ms. Binky. 🙂 You surely had made your purpose, I’m sure of that. Ikaw pa. Hehe. Lalo na in the aspect of being a mom.

    • thank you Rhence.. Being a mom is never easy, when bill is stacking up, and failing to see God’s protection on my children, I become weak. I give in to worrying, and temptation.
      Teaching my children to respect us parents is hard work already, because our priorities are different. I just hope they too would realize that no parent wanted harm to their children, Sometimes we parents fail to see that too much protection makes our children weak. The desire of my children to be independent is there, we understand that but still, children must at all times respect their parents whatever the circumstance is. Kahit tama or mali, Respect should always be there. Im saying this kasi nung bata pa ako, sobrang pasaway ko talaga and that brought me bad experience.and I thank God for is goodness, mababait ang mga anak ko.

      thank you Rhence again,for your encouragement. Im still learning the ropes on how to be a really God fearing mom so that I can show them how is it to live following Gods laws.

      • Ehem. Kahit hindi para sakin yung sinasabi po ninyo bat nacconvict ako? Haha. Sobrang pasaway ko din kasi. Hehe. Sapul! 😀 And thanks for reminding me again. 😉

        Anyway, you shouldn’t be worrying about it because I know you can. For you had a good heart with best intentions, you’ll surely fulfill the the role of being a good mom! 🙂 And i know He will certainly help you! 😀

Just say what you think! :)

