In a child’s eyes..

My three children who are active Facebook users started to blacken their profile pictures in support of the   Anti- Cybercrime  Prevention Act.

My daughter asked me what is the content of this Republic Act  and why people are against it.  Whoa!  Wait a minute kapeng mainit! How can I explain it to a 10 year old child? In a way that she can understand. This calls for somesupermega powers!

I felt obliged since it  should come from me as a parent so she won’t be misguided. But i asked myself, do I truly understand the Law or im just one of those ” nakikisawsaw just for the fad of it?

I told her that the law itself has good intentions,  First, Cybercrime offenses as stated in Section 4 (a) of the Act are primarily for the protection of the people.  The issue lies on Section 4 (c)under Content-related Offenses: (4) Libel. This provision violates the Freedom of expression

Libel – Article 355 of the Revised Penal Code of the Philippines

SEC. 6. All crimes defined and penalized by the Revised Penal Code, as amended, and special laws, if committed by, through and with the use of information and communications technologies shall be covered by the relevant provisions of this Act: Provided, That the penalty to be imposed shall be one (1) degree higher than that provided for by the Revised Penal Code, as amended, and special laws, as the case may be.

Insertion of Libel in this bill is explained in this Link

I don’t want to put negative notion on my child’s mind but I guess they need to learn the truth as early as today.  I too have many question but I see  this law is politically motivated. Why? its nearly election time campaigns in the cyber world would truly make or break their popularity rate. Isn’t it too timely?

Plagiarism is a crime, it is stealing. Let us remember the people who signed and pursued for this RA to be signed and lets us use our right judgement this coming 2013 election.. Let us vote for the right people. with true intentions of serving our country those with principles of serving the country above self. Those people who will truly serve us and not the other way around..

Mabuhay ang Pilipinas!

3 thoughts on “In a child’s eyes..

  1. Pingback: “Tanging hininga lamang … | 25pesocupnoodles

Just say what you think! :)

